Created on 14 January 2019

The First Negotiation Meeting on the Agreement on Mutual Recognition of Professional Qualifications of Doctors of Medicine, Dentists, Architects and Civil Engineers was held in the organization of the Regional Cooperation Council of the countries of South East Europe (RCC). The meeting was organized in Montenegro, Podgorica, on 20 and 21 December 2018. The meeting was attended by representatives of six economies: Montenegro, Albania, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo (name defined by UN resolution 1244 from 1999). Bosnia and Herzegovina was represented by representatives from the Ministry of Civil Affairs of BiH, a representative from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of BiH and a representative from the Centre for Information and Recognition of Qualifications in Higher Education.

RCC First Meeting Tirana Regulated Profession 2RCC First Meeting Tirana Regulated ProfessionDuring this meeting, the general text of the Agreement, which is made up of 22 articles and five annexes, was thoroughly revised, and will be further elaborated in the following meetings. Representatives of all six economies actively debated the attitudes related to the automatic recognition of professional qualifications of doctors of medicine, dentists, architects and civil engineers with emphasis on the importance of the issue of temporary / occasional or permanent carrying on profession, the internal regulations of all six economies related to residence permits for foreigners, the duration of the licences for certain professions, the level of knowledge of the English language and the language of the country in which recognition is sought, and all other issues essential for finding common solutions in order to facilitate the (automatic) recognition of the above four professions.

Negotiations will be continued from 21 to 23 January 2019 in Skopje, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. In addition, four more meetings are planned to complete the negotiations, and they will result in the signing of the Agreement in July 2019 in Poland.